Won’t somebody buy me a mercedes benz…

Well I don’t really need a Mercedes Benz, what I need is a swift. And not a swift kick, if that was what you were thinking. Nope I need a swift. Doesn’t need to be fancy, I just need a swift. Anyone selling one, anyone have one lying around that they want to part with….. Well it was worth a shot. I think I am going to make one of the basic table top ones like this one. It seems pretty easy to make and will much better then my method of choice now, which is the chair method. That or I have to wait until I am at the Purple Purl and  use theirs. Which while they are conveniently located to my house, makes feel a little ashamed about winding wool that I didn’t buy from them. So I need a swift.

The reason for a swift is for the hand spun I have been making and also for the new stash enhancement I got yesterday. Here are some picks of the new lovelies.

New Stash goodies

More stash

Handpainted lovelies

There is some lovely hand painted thick and thin goodies, a small 2.6 oz skein of silk that I have already painted up and is cooling downstairs. A large skein of what I think is a silk blend, 5 silk crepe scarves that I am not sure what to do with yet; either dyeing or maybe some felting, as well as two mystery skeins of a shiny lace weight in red and gold and one in the dark blue/green color that I wound up. Oh and my sit and spin DVD which I haven’t watched yet but am really looking forward to.

Did you notice the spoon sticking out of the green stuff. That is right I painstakingly wound my ball onto a spoon handle, using the ol chair swift method and the damn spoon handle is stuck. It will not come out. I checked before I starting winding to make sure there were no splinters or anything for the stuff to get caught on and it happened anyway. Oh well.  There is SO MUCH yardage in those skeins. WOW. I think I wound for about 3 hours or more in total to get that ball.  Hmmm maybe I need a ball winder too. I got all those goodies (except for the dvd) at the Nanopod destash  event yesterday. Apparently not as much stuff as the last one, but I missed the last one so I was happy with what I got yesterday. Who can turn up yarn at $2.00 and $5.00 a ball/skein. NO ONE!

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Won’t somebody buy me a mercedes benz…

  1. Aspasia says:

    Sorry–S and I both laughed at your spoon dilemma. That sucks! Hope you don’t need to use it anytime soon…

Leave a Reply

