A New Year and a New Post

Ok so I kinda disapeared there. Not sure if anyone really reads this anyway but I have been missing posting so I decided to come back. So what has been happening while I was away.  I had some family life issues to deal with, I went back to school to start my masters only to go on strike a  month and a half into the program and have been on strike ever sense, and I seem to have a mysterious pain in my abdonmen and side that we are trying to figure out what it is, but ruling out what it isn’t. I know it isn’t bowel cancer which is great, but not very helpful. It is also probably not Crohns which was the other culprit, but still it is a very painful pain that hasn’t subsided for almost a month now, so lets hope we figure it out soon.

In the craft front, lots has been happening, since we went on strike. Previous to that, I was busy with school work, but with the free time when I am not on picket duty I have been spinning, knitting, and crocheting, which I have decided is my new favorite thing to do. Since I stared crocheting I have made several produce bags for groceries,  a hat, a small doll, a dog coat and some elbow length lacey arm warmers. All in a few weeks, which for me is fast. I made the arm warmers over three nights and the hat in two days which included ripping it back twice because it was too big. Today I shall head to my LYS  The Purple Purl for the latest Interweav Crochet so I can make the thrummed mittens that are shown. I tired knitting thrummed mittens last year, but ended up with things that are the size of pot holders. I should try felting them and see if that will work, or I need to find a guy with huge hands to wear them.

I promise I will post pictures of all the progess on the craft front soon.  Here is a list of what I have accomplised though:

  • spun one skien of thick and thin
  • spun aprox. 140 yards of gorgeous silk in a tow ply lace weight
  • spun my first core thread novelty yarn and made a little neck warmer with it
  • learned to crochet again, and have decided I LOVE IT
  • practied my hand dying and hope to get better

lots more but I can’t remember.  So pictures to come, more posts to follow and Happy New Year everyone!!!

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

