Demystifying the Sock

I know this sounds like  it should be a knitting how to or something, but no the demystifying of the sock was me trying to explain to my coworkers why I wanted part of Tuesday off.  I could have lied and made up something, but I figured why not go with the truth. Conversation went as such…

Me: can I leave early on Tuesday say around 1pm or something.

Coworkers: sure, but why?

Me: well there is this local author, and knitter who is releasing her new book on knitting and I want to go and she is having a sock photo scavenger hunt that you need to take lots of photos for so I have to leave early.

Coworkers: *blink, blink* a sock what now.

So I explained that you had to take a sock in progress to various places and take a photo of your sock with said item. I then explained some of the concepts ie. the sock held by your boss, or at a tim hortons etc..

They stared at me and said “people knit socks? why would anyone knit socks.” I explained that most socks are knit, we are just getting machine made ones, and that socks are easy to take with you when you go out so can still knit. That was it “People knit in public???” again with the dumbfounded look, as if I had just told them that I am the reincarnation of the Hitler and I am  back to take over the world one latte at a time. I explained the concept of the day, take photos of the sock, go to the book launch and then knit while walking to the pub, and then sit and knit in a pub. Oh the crazy knitting fun.
They asked if many people would actually go to something like this.  I said well I am not sure if there will be that many but I would say hundreds. Again they looked like I had just stated that  I eat babies for supper every third Sunday of the month for religious reasons. I explained that there are tonnes of knitters out there, and that maybe close friends of theirs were secret knitters that they didn’t know about. They asked what the book was going to be about, patterns?, a how to? I said ‘nope it is just about knitting’, sorta essays and antidotes about knitting and knitters and non knitters. At this point I realized I had lost them, and so I finished with ” so is it ok if I leave early on Tuesday”.

So this Tuesday if you come to Balzac’s cafe in the Distillery you may see one crazy barista take photos of her sock, while her coworkers look on in dis belief and awe. Maybe I will bring some extra wool and see if they want to knit socks too.  See you all on Tuesday.

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

