Damn that girl has stones

So Tuesday I went to the emergency room, a first for me and definitely represents the pain I was in. I was sent there from work at around 11am and I finally got to go home around 6:30 after being told that they didn’t know what was causing my pain and that maybe it was ruptured ovarian cyst. So Wednesday I go to work and my back starts to hurt so I leave early. I come home and I am pretty hobbled over but otherwise feeling ok. That night I start suffering again, terrible back pain, but I think ok I will see if it still hurts in the morning and if so I will go to the doctor. So I make a doctors appointment for Thursday afternoon, at which point the doctor takes one look at me tells me I probably have a kidney stone and to get back to emergency. Yay. So at two I return to emergency and wait and wait and wait and finally I am sent in  and rushed up stairs on a stretcher to have a catscan where it turns out I did have a kidney stone and that since I didn’t know about it, it passed painfully and caused an infection. So now I am on antibiotics and pain killers -the hillbilly heroin, so at least the pain is gone. But damn that hurt. I was also finally given morphine last night when I was sitting on my hospital bed going ten ten, the pain is at ten know, please give me something. The guy came to take me to the CTC and I just yelled at him that no one had given me a pain killer yet and there was no way I was going anywhere unless I got something.

I was also glad that I had my knitting on Tuesday my first trip to emergency. I sat in the room I was placed knitting my hat that was indeed two small, but I had nothing else to do so I continued happily knitting. One of the nurses asked what I was knitting, I replied “a hat but it is two small, but I have nothing else to do”. After I had completed another several inches of hat, I realized that knitting a hat that was to small was pointless and that ripping back everything would also give me something to do. So I sat and frogged my hat back into balls. I might have been able to cast on if I hadn’t been sent to get an ultrasound. So the moral of the story is ALWAYS have some knitting on had because you never know when you will be sent to the hospital with nothing to do for 8 hours.

The worse part of all this is that I missed the opening of The Purple Purl   which I had been looking forward to. Although I did stop in on the way to the hospital to say good luck and have a great opening. I had planned on helping out for the opening but alas fate was against me. Of course Simon made the mistake of telling my mom I back in the hospital last night when she called instead of just saying “nope she isn’t here right now she off at a knitting thing”, which would have been the smart thing. So I have now spoken to her three times this morning to assure her that I am fine.

Ok so I am feeling a little pain, time to take some hillbilly drugs 🙂 Of course the ordeal isn’t over yet, I still have to back this afternoon to have another ultrasound done on my kidneys. Woo hoo. At least I will have knitting with me this time. I shall be prepared, especially since the nice lady said there would be a wait.

Cheers everyone and have a  great weekend 🙂

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Damn that girl has stones

  1. Kathleen says:

    !!! I’m so sorry you went through that. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve been told that kidney stones are horrifically painful and the only thing that women compare to labour (but unfortunately without the fun side effect of a cute baby once it’s all over). Glad you are feeling better.

  2. Krista says:

    Ahh thanks. I am still uncertain to if I have passed the stone or not yet. I hope I did, cause baby I was in a lot of pain, and if not, well I am glad I have all those pain killers.

Leave a Reply

