yes you can dress me up and take me out

So sorry for the last self loathing post, I am feeling much better, and the little doggy got to go to a good home, so no more Ellen for me. I did see another little dog at the humane society yesterday but lately they have been jerks so I hold no hope on getting the dog. I know they are overworked and probably underpaid but common there is something to be said for politeness.

In other news myself and Simon got to go to the Gairdner awards, which was a black tie affair, so we got to go formal wear shopping. It was lucky that the awards just happened to fall the week after this huge warehouse sale on men’s formal wear, so we bought Simon a tux. I believe it cost about 10 or 20.00 more to buy it then to rent it and now he has a tux. I also got a top hat, because really, how cool is it to have a top hat. It is a nice one too, now I just need to find a place to wear it to. So we got all dressed up and headed to the four seasons, where you get greeted by attendants opening your taxi doors and saying ‘Good Evening Madame”, very posh. There was even this cute little woman in the washroom, who will open the doors for you and give you a towel and offer you hygiene products. I have never been anywhere with a bathroom attendant before, it was kinda awkward, but nice. So here are some photos of me and Simon all cleaned up. Of course this is after the awards, so we are a little tired, and sorta drunk ( me at least) but you can still get the effect.

DSC_0025

DSC_0032

A James bond moment. I have a remote for my camera so taking photos is fun.

DSC_0045

The awesome back of this dress.

DSC_0041

Me all sparkly. Apparently my dress was a hit, because several scientific paparazzi took my photo. I was also not too over dressed and not as I feared under dressed. I have never been to an official black tie event before so I had no idea what to expect. We found this dress at Exile in Kensington and they had about another 5 that were variations on this one and in other colors, that all fit me, so I know where to go if I need another fancy dress.

In knitting news, I have one completed mitten made from my hand spun alpacacoop. Simon is impressed that I have mittens from fluff and that I also made the knitting needles info on a how to can be found here in Emily’s post. So I am making mittens from hand spun yarn, on needles I made, how crafty is that. I wish I had taken a photo of the original mitten I was knitting. It turned out to be  a monster mitten. I should have realized it was going to be too big, but it was one of the cases of knitting dementia that the yarn harlot often describes. There I was knitting away and trying it on and realizing that it was going to be too big, and yet I kept knitting, and knitting. after I got to the point where I was supposed to start the top decreases, I realized that I was going to have to  rip it all out.  So now I have one mitten that mostly fits. It is a little big in the thumb, but I can fix that on the next one.  I will post pictures soon.

Ok must go eat some food. Cheers 🙂

Ps. I did go out and find some sock yarn to cheer me up. Now I just need to cast on some socks.

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to yes you can dress me up and take me out

  1. Maryann says:

    Great…now we totally HAVE to have a gala event at The Purple Purl just so you can wear that dress again!!!!

    Cool!

  2. SP Pal says:

    Love your dress! It’s sooo gorgeous! You look great!

Leave a Reply

