Down but not out.

Ok So I am feeling pretty down right now. We have this little dog Hector, you’ve seen the pictures. We have been talking about getting him a little friend and us a second dog for a while now, and I finally found what I thought was a great match. His name is Jasper, he is two, and looks just like Hector. Has the same mix in him, and the same mannerisms. We went to meet him last Friday night and he was great, shy, but that is because he has been living on the streets. He is a little fearful of men until he gets to know them, and him and Hector seemed to get along fine, but they didn’t play much.  I think it was the new environment was too stimulating for Hector. We had talked to the Rescue about the possibility of us having Jasper come over for a night or two visit, before we agreed to adopt him, just to make sure that he and Hector will get along. Obviously we don’t want a new dog that will fight with Hector, and we wanted to make sure Hector wouldn’t get jealous if we were snuggling with Jasper. It seemed like all was going ok, but today the Rescue lady called and said that they were going to be looking at other applicants that don’t have restrictions for adopting Jasper. I am so down right now. I really liked him and I think he would have been a great match. If it was just me here, I would say yes we will take him and it will all work out, but I know Simon was a little wary because of the being afraid of men thing. He said he didn’t want a dog that would be afraid of him for months, before he got used to him. Of course Hector was pretty afraid of Simon in the beginning too, but oh well. I think Simon is just too busy to be concerned with anything else right now, which is sad, because I really wanted to get a second dog, even though it meant all the extra work would be on me. Sigh.  I hope the little guy gets a great home.

Now I need something to cheer me up. I have today and tomorrow off work, before I start working full time next week. There is also a chance that I will be working at our Balzac’s booth at  the Royal Winter Fair. That means I would get in free, and be there everyday with the sheep and the animals, woo hoo. I hope I get to go to it. I am pretty excited about that. I think I need some new wool. I have been trying to figure out what to knit, but I don’t have the right yarn for anything. I want some pretty mixed colored yarn in a worsted weight, and I want it right now. Something that is good for mittens, because I want to make mittens. I am currently knitting mittens out of my handspun, but it is obvious that the pattern is for a much bigger hand, because the gage is right but the mitten she is too big, so I guess I shall be frogging later and starting over. I also want to knit a new hat, but I don’t have anything pretty that I want to knit the hat out of. Sigh again. If only the Purple Purl was open now. It is the new yarn cafe store that is opening in Lesliville and it will be about 5 minutes walk from my house. If my third floor balcony was on the front of the house instead of the back, I could go up and see the store from up there.  See the east end needs a yarn store. Tomorrow I heading to downtown (Queen W) area to meet up with Simon for lunch and too do some shopping so I can hit Romni and Lettuce Knit tomorrow, but over here there is only the Naked Sheep and it is too far from my house. Oh well. I should finish the few orders I have to do and then head out and do some mailing. Maybe Value Village will have some fabulous  yarn just waiting for me.

Cheers everyone 🙂

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

