FIP: MONKEY SOCKS

So my first pair of socks are finally done. Whoo hoo. They are monkeys knit on 2.5 birch hand made needles and made out of some strange natural/acrylic blend yarn that I bought at value village. They are a little tight and a little itchy but I made them and so I like them. Now I just need to make more socks out of nicer wool. I need more sock yarn, or I have to figure out how to spin sock weight yarn and get some nice soft fiber. Maybe all the stinky sheep fleece in the basement can be spun into nice soft sock yarn, once it stops being stinky sheep fleece in the basement.

So here are the socks, drum roll please…..
monkeys in the air

Monkey socks

monkeys snuggling

They are my first attempt at socks, and I think did ok on them. I know I made a few mistakes, and on the second sock I did a much better heel and even managed to go back and fix a mistake or two, instead of going, oh well these are just practice socks, like I did on the first one. All in all a good sock knitting experience. Now to make more socks, and scarves and hats. I did make a scarf but it is out of eyelash yarn and kind boring, but it is for my mom so I hope she likes it. Now I have to make a stripy hat for Simon, because his old one is really old and kind smelly and so he needs a new one. Off to start knitting hats.

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FIP: MONKEY SOCKS

  1. Kelly says:

    Yay! Congratulations on your First Socks. They look fine. I really like the way that pattern fits, I may make more for me if I ever get through the Xmas list!
    Yer gonna like the wool, though. Mmm. Wool. Smelly fleece makes soft things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

