In Memoriam

I had meant to post this on Sunday but I was busy working, and then I had to work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and today but I feel like posting now so here I go… I would like to dedicate this post to my grandmother who died last year on September 3. My grandmother was the reason I started crafting. From a baby she made me handmade toys and I always loved them better the rest of my dolls. She made me my blanket, my quilt etc and when one wore out she made me another one. She would give me scraps of fabric when I was little that I could sew with and she always love everything I made for her, and I made some really ugly things.

She also helped through the rough stuff at home. I didn’t have a great childhood, but she was there for me. When things got bad, I would go stay with her at our tiny little cabin up on the shore and I would fish and help her garden and we would sit around and craft and talk. There is a lot of crafting in Newfoundland and the grandmothers where the ones who taught their daughters and their granddaughters to craft. My nan taught me to knit and to crotchet (both of which I forgot for awhile) , how to can things, how to cook, she taught me to sew and even helped me make my SCA costumes. She even helped sew up my favorite pair of ripped jeans, but I forgave her. She never asked me for anything and she always encouraged me in whatever I did. She even liked my crazy hair colors and crazy clothes. In later years her eye sight started to go and she couldn’t do any crafts anymore. I think that was what was worse for her. Not getting older, not her friends dying but the fact that she couldn’t make anything anymore.

She was the most important person in my life when I was little and the one person I could count on to love me no matter what I did. I miss her terribly but she was 93 and her time had come and gone. I plan on making a quilt with  my hand spun wool as a memory to her. I have several knitted quilts that she had made and most of my xmas is tree is filled with her crotched ornaments so she is always around me. I love you nan and wish you were still here and I hope where ever you are that there is always fish in the freezer, tea for the kettle  and wool for the knitting.

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

