In which the Pictures finally arrive

Ok so I jumped on the bandwagon again and got a Fliker account so now there are photos to be seen and enjoyed and savoured like a fine wine 🙂

So I guess picture the first is my great haul of mohair that I found. You remember right, the yard sale prize of 7 balls of mohair. Oh yeah baby.mohairbeforedying

That is the mohair in all its teal glory, made into a skein for dying. So the before and now
Mohair all colored

I used a cheery color and a grape I believe. The mohair did have some non natural fibers that didn’t dye you can see them here…

the mohair again

I also dyed another ball using a blue color Kool Aid and some grape and got a very similar color but I tyed the skein diferently and so it is more varied in color. I am totally loving this Kool Aid dying thing. I just put it into the Microwave for a bit until it got hot and then I left it outside on the back patio for a few hours until all the color was absorbed. Now I just have two more balls to dye and I can start planning for a sweater. Woo hoo.

And now a WIP, also know as the ever addictive monkey socks…Monkeys

This is my first attempt at sock making and I am pretty proud of how it is going. There are few mistakes, but most I know what I did wrong, and most I was able to fix, and I figured out how to turn a heel, which I must say was a thrilling experience. The Yarn Harlot had it right in “knitting rules” I did feel pretty smart after I had managed to get it to work. Yay me. You can also see my sock monkey stitch markers hanging out on the monkey socks.  Shames self plug.. you can buy these at my etsy store http://pixiefashions.etsy.com for you own sock making amusement.

I think I might go in to writing overload so I had better stop here. So one last though for the day.. Jim Jones was right you can dye with Kool Aid 🙂 Cheers.

About Krista

Pixiefashions is one woman and a bunch of sewing machines trying to take over the world....we make alternative fashions for your hair and home :) A little bit vintage, a little bit rock n roll with a good helping of horror thrown in for fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In which the Pictures finally arrive

  1. Em says:

    Hooray for Kool-Aid dying and Monkey socks!

Leave a Reply

